Stock Trading Simulator Suggestion Box

Discussion in 'eInvesting Trading Simulator' started by Benjamin, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
    Lets put all the suggestion discussion for the simulator here.
     
  2. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    Sweet. Let me start off with an official request to be able to sell partial shares. :D
     
  3. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    I think being able to place limit orders would be useful in the stock simulator. Not sure how easy it would be to encode, but I just thought I might throw it out there.
     
  4. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    Suggestion: Create a log of past transactions. I already forgot the trades I made today! :oops: :mrgreen:
     
  5. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
    A fine idea, Should be able to do that no problem!
     
  6. Dave Rathbun

    Dave Rathbun Original Creator Original Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    :lol: :lol: :lol: ;-)

    The page is already done there just isn't a link to it yet.
     
  7. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
  8. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    Sweet. That was quick. Will other people be able to see it though?
     
  9. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
    Nope, unless they are logged in as you, heh.
     
  10. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    Awesome. Will you be creating a link for this feature? Maybe the Portfolio Simulator would be the best place for it? :p
     
  11. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
    Yep, added the link...this page will need work in the future though, especially once you have a lot of trades going!
     
  12. thrilla

    thrilla Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Banking
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Home Page:
    I would like to be able to short stocks. :D Not the most important thing, but I think it would make things interesting.
     
  13. freeye

    freeye Member Original Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united states of america
    If it is a choice between making SHORT STOCK ORDERS available or making BUY LIMIT ORDERS available in addition to MARKET ORDERS... at the present moment I would have to vote for making the buy limit available first.

    it seems to be more fundamental to those wanting to learn how to invest properly.

    i'm open to persuasion on this if anyone wants to put forth their thoughts.
     
  14. lostsoul01

    lostsoul01 Member Original Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Director of Technology
    Location:
    Illinois
    I'd like to suggest a fix for stocks that change their symbol. One changed for me and I wasn't able to get into my portfolio at all until it changed back.
     
  15. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Mr. TS, the simulator is definitely not getting it done with market orders on the open so hopefully you will institute limits as soon as possible, I placed my most recent order on the open just as the stock I was buying was trading at 4.50 market, yuns guys gave me 4.61, I also missed a fill on another stock buy into the close last night so I just cxl'd it, no biggie, just letting you know that you have not solved the problems with the first 20 minutes and the last 20 minutes of the trading day.
     
  16. Trading Simulator

    Trading Simulator Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The order was placed at 12:00 on 8/31. After a twenty minute delay it would be filled - at the earliest - at 12:20. According to the intraday quote values for the stock, it traded at right at or around 4.61 for the entire hour. So I don't see the problem. The only time the stock traded at 4.50 was just after the open, which would have been two hours prior to the placing of the order.
    Please provide the order number (from the order queue process) for me to investigate.
     
  17. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The order is #89, that was placed at 8:38 AM EST yesterday, not on 8/31, looking at the 1 day chart with 5 minute increments I can see that although the stock in question was actually trading at 4.50 market there was an immediate spike up through 4.60, so perhaps I placed the order here at EI just a split second too late to catch the few trades that happened near the 4.50 level, no biggie :D
     
  18. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Screwed, bloooood, and tatoooood! had to place an order to sell 1000 CAFEW twice as it traded at 2.70+, what did yuns guys give me? 2.57!! :lol: c'mon Mr. TS, at least get it close! :lol:
     
  19. Benjamin

    Benjamin Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Webmaster/Investor
    Location:
    Chicago
    Home Page:
    Would you fire your broker for this? Or would that never happen? :)
     
  20. Grimreaper

    Grimreaper Active Member Original Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Fire my broker? c'mon now, I bought at 2.42 and sold at 2.74 but only got 2.57, so I lost $170 on the trade, I'm not peee a zissed, but da hericane Katrina victims might be cause I was gonna donate 50% of my Ebucks from the transaction to da relief efforts, not that they need it, most of those fokes who was holed up in da superdome is gonna be millionaires when all is said and done, just like da families of the world trade center victims became wealthy as a result of the outpouring of good will, unless da govmint messes things up agin and they somehow doesn't get da windfall, no biggie, us taxpayers will take care of it latta oooooooooon :shock: